The Department of Social Security (DSS) provides for two basic schemes, namely the Contribut​ory Scheme and the Non-Contributory Scheme. The Social Security Act (Cap. 318.), forms the basis of two robust pillars on which benefits are paid. It is based on regular payments that covers residents for certain benefits in sickness and maternity, retirement, invalidity and widows, injury and occupational diseases, unemployment and family benefits.